White Lion Lodge Logo

Big Five Safari at Sanbona Wildlife Reserve

Big Five Safari at Sanbona Wildlife Reserve near Montagu on Route 62 in South Africa.

Important Information For Our Guests Traveling From Cape Town

Important Information For Our Guests Traveling From Cape Town

Update March 12, 2018

New Blastings planned in autumn 2018:

Thursday 15 March 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 20 March 2018 Blasting
Thursday 22 March 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 27 March 2018 Blasting

Tuesday 10 April 2018 Blasting
Thursday 12 April 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 17 April 2018 Blasting
Thursday 19 April 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 24 April 2018 Blasting

Thursday 03 May 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 08 May 2018 Blasting
Thursday 10 May 2018 Blasting
Tuesday 15 May 2018 Blasting
Thursday 17 May 2018 Blasting

Future dates will be confirmed at a later stage.


The major blasting required in Cogmanskloof is complete, so scheduled road closures have been suspended until further notice. Occassional road closures my be required from time to time to eable necessary services to be installed.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

From November 2015 to December 2016 the Cogmanskloof, Eastern Side of Montagu might be closed on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11.00 -13.00 for Blasting.

Alternative Route to the White Lion Lodge on Sanbona Wildlife Reserve, coming from the N1:

Drive through Ashton and turn right direction Swellendam (R60) for approx. 45km.
In Swellendam turn onto the N2 direction Heidelberg. After 11 km turn left onto the R324 for ca. 15 km. You will drive through Suurbraak.
Than turn left, stay on the R324 for another 17km. You will drive over the Tradouw Pass.
Thereafter you turn left onto the R62 and after 20km turn right onto the Sanbona Road.

 

If you travel the N2 from Cape Town, carry on going until you turn off onto the R324.

2904 Hits

Travel Blog Posting by Chris

Many thanks to Chris for his posting in the Blog!
Let's start reading...

"For years I wanted to go on a safari and for my birthday this year, I decided to make it happen. Since we stayed in Cape Town, I researched a lot of Safari lodges that were nice and not too far from the city. White Lion Lodge is about 3.5h from Cape Town and the drive was scenic and easy to do.
The lodge had just a few accommodations (8 people max). Lunch and dinner was served in a communal style, so you are all sitting on one large table, which is something I had not experienced before, but it was a nice way to connect with fellow guests. The main lodge housed the dining area and a living room style space with a fire place..."


Read more:

2295 Hits